Posted by: girlvsbeer | July 9, 2010

Summer Pils.

Summer Pils.

Saint Arnold Brewing Company located in Houston, is Texas’ Oldest Craft Brewery. They brew ten different beers, five are made year round and five are seasonal. St. Arnold’s are available in bars, restaurants, grocery stores, liquor stores and warehouse stores in Houston, Austin, Dallas, Ft. Worth and San Antonio.

I have now been on the Saint Arnold’s Brewery Tour twice and can I say I want to go at least 100 more times before the year is out. The first time I was bummed because they did not have Elissa on tap, this time I was DEVASTATED that they did not have Texas Wheat and my new St. Arnold’s favorite Summer Pils, on tap.

Summer Pils is a German style pilsener.

I’ve talked a great deal about summer beers so far and without a doubt there is something about summer and beer that belong together. At a baseball game, a bbq, a picnic, and hanging out by the pool, there are endless places where having a beer feels natural. And for the endless places there are endless beers that seem to be summer beers.

So how do you choose a summer beer? Well for starters it helps to find a beer that is brewed especially for summer, if you can find it from a craft micro-brewery even better, and if you can find a micro-brewery as good as Saint Arnold’s you’ll have found your Summer Beer for life.

St. Arnold’s Summer Pils pours a light golden color with a 1 finger head that dissipates after a few sips and leaves little to no lacing. It has this fantastic fresh smell to it like bread and sweet malt.

Do you ever feel like something wide-spread was meant for you? That’s how I feel about the taste of this beer. This beer was crafted for me. I swear it was. It has this light sweet malty flavor, kind of a super light honey type flavor lingers. A fantastic hop flavor follows and finishes with a great crispness.

I’m so in love with this beer, when it comes right down to it you’re going to buy the beer you love. I find it important to test and see what’s out there but for every summer that St. Arnold’s continues to make Summer Pils it will continue to be my Summer Beer.

4.9% ABV
Texas.

5 Sparkles!
for:
-taste
-smell
-unique-ness
-drinkability

http://www.saintarnold.com/

Poured in my St. Arnold’s Pint Glass!

Leave a Reply

Categories

