Posted by: girlvsbeer | June 5, 2010

Lone Star

Lone Star.

The Lone Star Brewery was founded in 1884 by Adolphus Busch, of Anheuser-Busch and a group of San Antonio business men. However it wasn’t until 1940 that the Lone Star we know today was created.

Lone Star beer is an American Adjunct Lager. I don’t know what color Lone Star pours because I’ve never poured it out of it’s can. I also have never stopped to smell Lone Star so no real info there either…and…I’ve never really spent time savoring the flavors of Lone Star, in fact, love it as I do, I have no earthly idea what it looks, smells or taste like.

There is a reason for this. Lone Star is my token dive bar beer and also saved for that special Thanksgiving tradition ‘The Lone Star Challenge’ (24 beers, 12 hours) which is becoming less challenging and more about drinking together and giving thanks for…well…beer. I never drink Lone Star unless I am in a position to quickly forget the taste.

As I drank one Lone Star after another last night at PJ’s Karaoke, one of the few places I’ll ever order a Lone Star, I got to thinking about the beauty of a place like that. Where dogs are welcome people, where you aren’t sure the chairs are steady let alone the entire upstairs, where the KJ is your best friend and back up singer for 4 minutes, and it’s as easy to meet the owner as any number of the colorful regulars.

Lone Star has found it’s place in my heart. In the same place labeled dive bar.

1 Very Proud little Sparkle!
-price
-love ❤

http://www.lonestarbeer.com/age_verification.aspx
http://www.pjssportsbar.com/

4.72% ABV
Illinois….seriously?

Leave a Reply

Categories

