Posted by: girlvsbeer | May 10, 2010

Franziskaner Hefe-Weisse Dunkel

Franziskaner Hefe-Weisse Dunkel.

Franziskaner’s roots can be traced back to 1363. It was in this year that the brewer Seidel Vaterstetter is first mentioned as the owner of the ‘brewery next to the Franciscans’ in the Munich Residenzstrasse. The name ‘Franziskaner’ derives from the Franciscan monastery diagonally across the street. They remained there until their move to Munich in 1841.

I had trouble with this beer. I went into Spec’s with my brother and confidently asked for suggestions. I was so sure I was ready to move on to deeper, richer more full-bodied beers, after all I’ve been drinking Guinness for awhile now and it wasn’t at all what I expected due to the color. I just knew I was ready. I so wasn’t. I think I’ll have to put disclaimers on certain reviews. Here it goes *Due to my misplaced over-confidence in my ability to handle this beer I will re-review at a later date*

Franziskaner Dunkel is a Hefeweizen that pours hazy medium brown with an off-white almost tan-ish head that dissipates slowly and leaves a light lacing that disappears after a short time. Right away the yeast taste hit me hard, it followed with a sweet banana taste, some clove and some other spices I couldn’t pick out. Though the yeast was strong and I had trouble with the taste of it the beer itself had a mild bitterness and almost a roasted or maybe smoky type flavor.

All in all it just wasn’t for me. I couldn’t handle the tang of the yeast flavor and really I’ve never been crazy about bananas so we’ll see if any of that changes as I become more acclimated to darker beers.

5% ABV
Germany

3 Sparkles
for:
-complexity
-smell

http://www.franziskaner.com/0_start/index.htm

Leave a Reply

Categories

